weighty matters

Standard

Things I don’t mind you knowing about me:

I strongly believe that raisins ruin many baked goods, like carrot cake and oatmeal cookies.

I am going to be 40 this year… no hang ups on announcing my age to the world.

I don’t get on Facebook very much at all (not even once a week sometimes).

I won’t vote for Obama in the upcoming election.

I think it is a matter of salvation that you are baptized for the forgiveness of sins.

I think it is important that you work on living to Christ’s standard for your life.

I have read The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy MANY times, as an adult.

I struggle with gossip.

I take prozac and suffer from depression.

I started my family when I was 19 and unmarried.

LOVE having a nice glass of red wine.

I love coffee (guess that is out already).

Good news is God already knows all of that and some stuff I didn’t tell you.  Bad news… I have been holding back on letting God deal with something that weighs heavy on my heart.

If you are in my Sunday morning ladies Bible class you will know what I mean when I say that I have finally uncovered my Nineveh, I have come out from below decks and am asking to be thrown into the sea!

So here goes.

WHAT I DON’T WANT ANYONE ESPECIALLY GOD TO KNOW ABOUT ME:

I weigh 199.6.

I HATE exercise.

I LOVE food!

There I put that out there.

God has been calling me to deal with my weight, my self-discipline and my self-control.  I feel one big thing He wants from me is to just put myself out there and stop hiding.  So I am gonna go to press with my weight loss journey.

If I do nothing else on my blog, I WILL blog every Tuesday.  Last week I told you I went to my first Weight Watcher’s meeting.  Today I went to my second.  Here are my results, which I just promised to show you every week, even if I hide behind a pillow when I hit “publish”:

at least it didn’t go up my first week!

In front of God and everybody else:

I am committing to attending weight watchers until Nov 20th.

I am committing to earnestly pray for all of my food, exercise and health choices.

I am committing to blogging all of my results… the good, the bad and the ugly.

I am committing to allowing God access to this dark corner of myself!

I will blog more about this choice and the convictions I feel God has placed on my heart later.  For tonight, for now… “one small step” at a time.

Thank you Tawnia for sharing your weight watcher’s experience so openly.  It makes a big difference to see you succeed and to know there is someone out there working on it.  Thank you for answering my personal questions so willingly!

Thank u readers for letting me share things with you that I am sure you don’t really want to know.  I suppose I will have to give you TMI alerts from now on!

Gonna go use the last of my plus points for the day!!

Love and Hugs,

Latte

 

 

8 responses »

  1. You know how I don’t hug? Well, I wish I could give you a big hug right now! You know how I don’t offer those lightly. My weight is creeping back up. I’m right there with you friend. Proud of you for going down and not up. Very, very proud. It takes courage to do this online in front of God and everybody. Wish I was there to go to some meetings with you. Praying for you friend.

  2. Charlotte, you made me all teary-eyed! You are such an inspiration to me! I find that we struggle with some of the same things and your openness, honesty and efforts to constantly lay your burdens at His feet really convicts me. Thank you! I’ll be praying for you.

    • Drea,
      Thank you for you prayers and your sweet words. Just reading your reply means so very much to me! It re-confirms in me that God doesn’t ask us to do things with out cause, and I may not be the only one blessed as I submit my life to Him!
      Love,
      Latte

  3. Charlotte,
    I think this is incredibly awesome and real. What a great example of facing something that we fear and tackling it. You are an inspiration. I am going ot follow you every Tuesday and cheer you on –whether it is good, bad, or ugly 🙂

    – Robin Smith

    • Thank you for your support and words of encouragement!
      I misses you!
      Good, bad or ugly… God is showing me what he can do when we submit ALL of our choices to His will. So it’s all beautiful!! He can make our struggles beautiful!!
      Love,
      Latte

Leave a comment